Your privacy is important to us

To ensure that you have the best experience and to help us develop our services we automatically track your session. If you would like to know more about our privacy policy and how we handle your data, click here.

By continuing to browse you are accepting this.

Decline and Leave
Vote
Matthew MacNamara

Matthew MacNamara

Favourite?

  • Food: Mexican!
  • Drink: Smoothies. But the occasional naughty Guiness ;)
  • Film: Back to the Future
  • Music/Band: All music from rock to reggae!
  • Colour: Green
  • Season: Autumn - the colours on the trees are just wonderful.
  • Book: I read Wikipedia more than anything these days. I love learning something new.
  • Place: The Isle of Wight
  • Smell: Incense sticks
Follow Matthew

About Matthew MacNamara

A family man at heart, Matt lives in Stratford-upon-Avon with his wife, two children snd their cat, Flo. Growing up in Greater London, he developed a passion for video games, along with a knack for entertaining. He once appeared on Noel’s House Party doing his best Frank Spencer impression!

Matt has been in TV presenting and production for most of his working life. After presenting on a local TV channel and after a brief stint as a researcher on ITV’s ‘The Christmas Show’, he started his TV shopping career with ‘Snatch it’ in 2004 and went on to achieve 10 years of service with ‘GemsTV’. He then decided to step into the Crafting world back in 2015, to combine his love of crafting with his presenting experience, and the rest is history.

His passions include spending quality time with his family, video games, a spot of golf (when he gets the chance!), music and learning new things…starting with practising Spanish on his journeys to and from Peterborough.

On days off he would love to get out his die-cutting machine and mixed media paints, however he is often elbow deep in creating junk models and sewing sock creatures with his kids!

Q&A

What did you do before Create and Craft?

I have spent the last four years working in the craft industry. Before that I was a presenter at Gems TV in the UK and America, with a few trips exploring gemstone mines in India, Madagascar, Thailand and Cambodia!

Most embarrassing on-screen moment?

There are too many to mention from over the years! Most recently it was falling off a chair while holding a slice of pizza…the pizza remained intact.

Tell us a secret

I convinced my children that I have magical powers...I can open ‘automatic’ doors without touching them.

What's your idea of the perfect Sunday (when you're not working)?

Going on a long walk, geocaching or visiting a National Trust venue with my family and then coming home for a hearty roast dinner.

Who do you most admire and why?

People who volunteer. They selflessly give up their spare time to help others.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself and others?

Me – Biting my thumb when I am stressed.
Others – Rudeness and impatience

Aside from property, what's the most expensive thing you've bought?

I bought a sports car in my bachelor days…it soon got exchanged for a family car when the children came along, and I would not have it any other way.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

It’s a three way tie between chocolate, cheesecake and playing video games, in no particular order!

How would you like to be remembered?

As a kind and thoughtful person.

What keeps you awake at night?

Restless Legs Syndrome, it’s a nightmare.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Don’t sweat the small stuff!

Favourite Create and Craft product?

The Gemini!

Which phrase do you overuse?

Sorry.

If you could travel back in time, which period would you visit?

1950s America - Rock n’ Roll, classic diners and Cadillac’s.

View All Our Presenters